Carrick Road Runners Athletic Club, Co. Tipperary, Ireland
O' Neill Pharmacy Tom Jordan Memorial 5-miles
A field of 111 runners lined up in Portlaw last Friday evening for the ninth annual Tom Jordan Memorial 5-mile road race. This second race in the 2017 Outfield Sports Three-Counties Challenge was once again kindly sponsored by O' Neill's Pharmacy, Portlaw. The men's race was won by Waterford AC's Brian Swaby who clocked a time of 27:35. One of Waterford AC's talented group of junior athletes, Conor Sheils, put in a fine performance to take second place in a time of 27:49 and Clonmel AC's Jimmy Boland was third in 28:01. The host club Carrick AC's first finisher was Patrick Roche in seventh place (29:29). Waterford AC's Joan Mahony made it a double for the club when taking the ladies' race in a time of 32:11 with her club-mate Sinead Brannigan taking second place in 33:29. Carrick AC's Tina Walsh enjoyed a great run to finish third in 36:16. Carrick AC would like to thank all who helped to make this such a successful event. Thanks to O' Neill's Pharmacy for once again sponsoring the race and to Alan Treacy of Outfield Sports, Carrick-on-Suir for the continued sponsorship of the overall series. Well done to the Portlaw branch of the Red Cross for their superb organization and hard work which have made this such a popular event on the road-race calendar. A big thank-you to all of the race stewards who ensured the runners' safety and to all who helped with race registration, timing, results and post-race refreshments at the Forge Bar.
The third race in this year's series will be the Deadman's 5-miles in Carrick-on-Suir on Friday, 2nd June with a 7:30pm sharp start due to the race route crossing the railway line.Registration at the Swan GAA club headquarters will be from 6:00pm. This year's race will start on the Ballyrichard Road and not at Ormonde Castle. Further information from Mark (086-1608165) or Alan (051-641826)   
Tom Jordan Memorial Winners :
Senior Men : 1. Brian Swaby  (Waterford AC) 27:35    2. Conor Sheils  (Waterford AC)   27:49   3. Jimmy Boland  (Clonmel AC)  28:01
O/40 : Peter Hennessy   (Waterford AC)  30:17
O/45 : Michael O' Mahony  (Waterford AC)  29:41
O/50 : Ray Hahessy  (West Waterford AC)  29:30
O/55 : Dermot Power  (Saturday Road Runners)  32:07
O/60 : Anthony Dwyer (West Waterford AC)  34:23
Team : Waterford AC  (Tony Quinlan, Brian Cuddihy and David Cunningham)
Senior Ladies :   1. Joan Mahony  (Waterford AC)  32:11   2. Sinead Brannigan  (Waterford AC) 33:29  3. Tina Walsh  (Carrick AC)  36:16
O/35 : Anita Barry (St. Josephs AC)  36:54
O/40 : Emer McSweeney  (Focus on Fitness)  40:01
O/45 : Breda Hennessy  (St. Josephs AC)  38:20
O/50 : Sharon Flynn (Saturday Road Runners)  36:32
O/55 : Bernie Prendergast (West Waterford AC) 38:20
Team : West Waterford AC (Ann Dunford, Onra Power and Michelle Finnegan)  
Waterford to Tramore Road Race 
356 runners took part in the recent Waterford to Tramore  7.5 mile road race and it was Philip Harty from West Waterford AC who took the victory in the men's race with a time of 40:10. The ladies' race was won by Adele Walsh from St. Senans AC in 46:22.  Carrick AC runners were led home  by Michael O' Sullivan in 47:19 with Mary Molloy leading home our ladies in 53:34. Deirdre Walsh (62:54), Geraldine Houlihan (65:36) and Mags Power (68:02) all ran very well in the Carrick AC colours. Well done to all ur runners.